You Know What Really Grinds My Gears??

You know what really grinds my gears? A lot of things grind my gears in the kitchen. I think me saying that grinds a lot of gears of the people I work with. Seriously though, figured today would be as good a day as any to do a little ranting. No names will been mentioned, but you know who you are. To begin, one thing that does bother me is when there is special attention paid to a certain ticket, like an important guest in particular. I try to make all the food I prepare taste delicious and taste the same, whether it be at 6 or at midnight. It’s not like I can make it taste any different or better just because they might be important, or soigne if you will. Maybe I’ll get a second opinion if I think it needs a little more salt, but I’m not going to magically make it better. Speaking of important, we used to send amuses out to it seemed like anyone who walked in the door at my old job. First time diners, OpenTable VIP’s, an uncle’s second cousin, you name it. The nights when I wouldn’t really plan one were when I would get bombarded. I’d need a server or backwait to do amuses some nights. How dumb is that? Another thing that always bothered me, and still does, is running of food. I know sometimes everyone is insanely busy, but food just sits there dying in the window. If I have to remake something, it really grinds my gears. Just sets me behind when I am already in the weeds. Not assessing any blame servers. One of my biggest pet peeves is the lack of sense of urgency sometimes in people, front and back of the house included. I only have one speed sometimes in the kitchen, and it’s not slow. I’m busting my ass most of the time, unless I’m goofing off, but we won’t talk about that. Just be aware of your surroundings and don’t just stand there in your own little world if you see a cook coming with either something hot or their arms full. Move please, thanks. I’m usually stuck in the same little box for 6 hours, so when I get the chance to actually move, I move fast. Yeah, I’m going to ruffle some feathers with this post. Another thing that grinds my gears, as well as the gears of servers I’m sure are campers, especially the late night variety. Don’t sit there for hours drinking bottomless water when you are the only table in the restaurant. Go home and drink it. Back when I worked at Starbucks if we had people there late I would either turn the music and/or lights off. Not the most polite thing to do obviously, but they weren’t getting the hint. Another thing that bothers me is guests who pretty much use the menu as a palette and create whatever they want. I’ll have the pork, but I want the set from the chicken, and the sauce from beef, and I have an onion allergy to top it off. Just order one dish as it is, you might actually like it. One last thing that gets under my skin is messy cooks/chefs/servers. I’m not your mom, if you make a mess, clean it up. Ok, I feel a little better after ranting. I’m sure there are more things, but I’ll save it for another day. If I pissed anyone off, I’ll buy you a beer. Now time to enjoy my rare four day weekend.

screen-shot-2013-08-19-at-4-27-57-pm

One thought on “You Know What Really Grinds My Gears??

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. Well said.

    Like

Leave a Reply

