Gearing Up

So we all know what grinds my gears, I’ve made it pretty clear through my blog; apparently everything does. So I thought it would be interesting to get the opinions of those whose gears I tend to grind all the time, the front of house. I couldn’t do what they do; I’d probably be fired within a week for rolling my eyes or talking back to the guest. My one experience with working with the general public was as a barista at Starbucks many moons ago, and that was bad enough. I’ll stick to the back of the house. So I asked some of my favorite bartenders and fellow service industry friends from my years of working in restaurants what really bothers them. Some were like how long do you have? I can’t help but think of the movie Waiting as I write this blog. Don’t worry, no names or places will be mentioned. I do think my favorite response was line cooks, or those specifically who have blogs. Hmm. Last time I checked I was the only person in the kitchen with a blog. Thanks you know who you are. Anyway, one thing I heard a few times was the snapping of fingers or the waving of arms to try to get their attention. They obviously see you, but the more you wave or snap, the less likely they will rush right over to get your order. Patience, or the next time they are going to your office and snap fingers all day in your face. And be ready with your order when the bartender does come over. They are busy; they don’t have time to wait around while you decide on a Jager bomb or an Incredible Hulk. Or the surprise me/what do you like to drink?/what’s your favorite shot? was also equally annoying. Their favorite shot is going to be something that will make you go away quickly. I may have been guilty of this in my younger days; it’s college, what do you expect? Also what kind of martinis do you have? Do you have a pomegranate martini? What about an appletini? Amateur hour. The asking for salt and pepper was something that hit home for me. Don’t coat everything on your plate with a layer of seasoning before you have even taken a bite. And then send it back because it’s too salty. Who knows, the chef might have actually prepared the food correctly. What a weird concept. Personally, I do like having S & P on the table at a restaurant. However, I do taste everything first. The placing of napkins also was a big gear grinder. Don’t ball your napkin up and put in on your dirty ass plate. Just more work for the server. Or don’t put your napkin on the table and then ask for dessert. The napkin on the table is a waving of the white flag; meaning I’m done, no mas. I will be sure and keep my napkin in my lap from now on. Foodies or those who claim to know everything because they watch Guy Fieri all day was something else I heard. We all know how I feel about them. Or is it worse when the guest has no clue about food? Hmm, I smell a new post. Have I mentioned that I couldn’t do what the FOH does? I may bitch and moan about them a lot, but I appreciate everything they do, especially when they bring me an ice cold Coca Cola when I hit the wall around 9. I guess what I learned from this whole experience was have some common sense when you are dining out and treat your server how you would like to be treated. They are not there for your every beck and call. Cheers foodies.

grinds-my-gears1

Leave a Reply

