Sundaze

I used to absolutely hate Sundays. After working two doubles on the busiest days in the restaurant industry, I would have to wake up early and cook brunch, on top of working another double. 9 AM comes real early after being out on a Saturday night after work. Setting up the line half asleep/hungover is not my ideal morning. All the coffee and doughnuts in the world didn’t help. Well, maybe the doughnuts did. Anyway, not to mention having to come up with specials, place orders, babysit the kitchen, blah blah. You get the point. To make matters worse, I worked in an open kitchen and saw everyone enjoying their Bloody Marys and bottomless mimosas. It’s like they wanted me to suffer. Even when I didn’t have to cook brunch anymore, I would still have to work another insanely busy shift on Sunday. Scrolling through Facebook and Instagram I would see everyone else having a great Sunday Funday. I wanna play too! You suck Sunday. You and your eggs, waffles, bacon, benny’s, and cheap champagne can stick it where the sun don’t shine. Can you say bitter much? Yeah, that was me until a few months ago. It seemed like I was destined to work every stinkin’ Sunday. Not anymore foodies! Due to my recent change of employment, I have every Sunday off now, and it is glorious. Now I get to be one of those jerks who get to enjoy brunch. Bloody Mary bar and eggs? Why yes, I think I will. $2 double mimosa at Boxcar? Great idea. Tall boys and sausage? Sounds perfect to me. Having every Sunday off really has made a difference. Knowing you just have to make it through Friday and Saturday, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Plus I get to watch NFL again and actually use the NFL RedZone. Plus it’s a great day to actually be off. Unlike a Tuesday where there is nothing going on, there is usually something fun to do on a Sunday. And it’s a perfect day to fire up the charcoal grill, listen to Spotify, and have a cold one or two.  It’s the little things right? I feel like an actual normal person again, well sort of. The hours are long still, buy hey, there it at least the end of the week looming. We can be friends again Sunday, I take back all the mean things I said. Cheers foodies!

0725151241

Leave a Reply

